Cultivation Laws West Virginia

For growing cannabis in West Virginia, you need to apply for a permit. The application fee is $50,000, and the registration fee is $5000. The commercial cultivation of cannabis can only be done for medical purposes. This means that cannabis farming permits can only be given to medical processors, laboratories, dispensaries, and medical cannabis growers.

The only types of marijuana businesses allowed in this state are those wherein you will have agreements and contracts with registered dispensaries to provide products to your patients. The city you belong to will need to give you the go-ahead for your business.

The local city authorities should allow you to apply for a license to cultivate for medical purposes. It is very important for the businessman to talk to the local authorities before establishing their business as they have the right to put a ban on or not allow the owner to run his business.

Marijuana in this state is provided to medical patients in the form of oils, pills, tinctures, liquid, or non-whole plant forms through a vaporizer only. Even the sale of the dry leaf or whole plant form is allowed, but home cultivation is strictly prohibited. The cultivation and use of marijuana in this state for recreational purposes is illegal and punishable by law.

Learn about requirements, licensing and more at the Office of Medical Cannabis WV: https://dhhr.wv.gov/bph/Pages/Medical-Cannabis-Program.aspx