For cannabis cultivation in Washington, you either need to be a producer licensed by the state or a medical user. Either way, the first step is applying for a license. The applicant must be at least 21 years of age and should have been a resident of the state of Washington for at least six months. The application for the producer license needs to be made to the Washington State Liquor and Cannabis Board (WSLCB).
The non-refundable application fee for the license is $250. There are different types of licenses as per square feet. Tier 1 is for less than 2,000 square feet. Tier 2 is 2,000 to 10,000 square feet. Tier 3 is 10,000 square feet to 30,000 square feet. From the square feet permission allotted to you, at least 50% must be used else the WSLCB with the push you down by 1 tier. The license fee, which has to be paid annually, is $1381.
As per the state laws for growing cannabis, certain procedures must be carried out before the license application. Thorough criminal background checks will be done of the owners of the business, the financiers, stakeholders, and their respective spouses. For the business of cannabis farming, government identification of everyone critical to the business should be made.
Along with the license application, important documents like financial statements about the flow of money on the business and bank statements will have to be submitted.
Another important detail for cannabis farming is the location. Commercial cultivation needs to be at a minimum distance of 1000 feet from schools, playgrounds, recreational facilities, or any public parks and places that allow minors to enter.
Washington State marijuana licensing descriptions, requirements and fees: https://lcb.wa.gov/mjlicense/marijuana-licensing