In Vermont, businesses are allowed to open cannabis dispensaries, but cannot sell marijuana for recreational purposes. The first step for the commercial cultivation of cannabis is to apply for a dispensary license. The applicant has to be at least 21 years of age. The only license recognized by the state is the dispensary license. Anyone will this license have the permission to manufacture, grow, or sell cannabis.
The license is issued by the Department Of Public Safety Marijuana Registry. This department ensures that the state laws are followed by the dispensaries. At the time of the application, the applicant must provide details like the proof of a secure and locked facility where the distribution of cannabis will take place and proof of security measures against the unauthorized entrance. Along with this, the address of the cannabis cultivation location and thorough record-keeping details must be given.
Before the application is submitted, the Marijuana Registry performs a thorough background check on your criminal records. If any conviction or felony charges are found, your application for a license for growing cannabis will be rejected.
As per the state laws for growing cannabis, you cannot open your dispensary anywhere within 1000 feet of a public or private school. Cannabis farming cannot take place even within 1000 feet distance of any childcare facility.
The applicant has to submit a non-refundable application fee of $2,500 at the time of the application. The licensing fee structure for the first year is $20,000 and, for the later years, is $25,000. A registration identity card has to be made for every owner, financier, and employee of your business, which has a fee of $50.
Vermont’s official state registry, licensing, and regulatory affairs: https://medicalmarijuana.vermont.gov/
Non-Profit Vermont Growers Association (events, advocacy, assistance): https://www.vermontgrowers.org/