Rhode Island allows people to start businesses involving the commercial cultivation of cannabis. However, the final decision is up to the local authorities of your city. While growing cannabis has been legalized by the state, the city authorities are given the right to forbid your business if your application doesn’t seem fit.
In Rhode Island, cannabis can only be grown for medical uses. It is still considered illegal to cultivate cannabis for recreational purposes. You need to be registered either as a caregiver or a patient if you want to grow weed in Rhode Island.
As per the state laws for growing cannabis, the first and foremost step is applying for the license. The applicant needs to be at least 21 years of age. The application includes the main application form with all the other supporting documents. A fee of $5000 has to be paid to the General Treasurer of the State of Rhode Island along with the application form.
If the license has been approved, the applicant will have to pay an additional annual license fee as per the license type. The micro license is for up to 2,500 square feet, and the fee is $5000. License Class A is for 2,501 to 5000 square feet, and the license fee is $20,000. Class B is for 5,001 to 10,000 square feet, and the fee is $35,000. Class C is for 10,001 to 15,000 square feet, and the fee is $50,000. Class D is for 15,001 to 20,000 square feet, and the fee is $80,000.
Learn more about licensing and requirements for Rhode Island’s medical marijuana program here: https://dbr.ri.gov/divisions/medicalmarijuana/