For cannabis cultivation in Oregon, the first step is to apply for a license to the Oregon Liquor Control Commission (OLCC). Before OLCC goes on to review the license application, the applicant needs to submit a Land Use Compatibility Statement (LUCS). This form states that your land is compatible with growing cannabis. As per the state laws for growing cannabis, the applicant must be at least 21 years of age.
There are four different types of applications for the commercial cultivation of cannabis – Retail, Wholesale, Processing, and Production. You are allowed to hold either all four licenses or choose the ones you want to apply for.
The basic application fee for the producer license is $250. The main fee for the license depends on the size of your land and is distributed into four tiers. The fee for Micro Tier 1 is $1000, which permits up to 2,500 square feet of outdoor or 625 square feet of indoor space. The fee for Micro Tier 2 is $2000, which permits 5,001 to 10,000 square feet of outdoor or 626 to 1,250 square feet of indoor space.
The fee for Tier 1 is $3759, which permits 5,001 to 10,000 square feet of outdoor or 1,251 to 5,000 square feet of indoor space. The fee for Tier 2 is $5750, which permits 20,001 to 40,000 square feet of outdoor or 5,001 to 10,000 square feet of indoor space. This fee has to be renewed annually.
Along with the basic application for commercial cannabis farming, applicants are expected to submit other important details. These include details about their growing operation, like the state registration number, legal entity, operational hours, and so on. Applicants also need to give details about the initial funding structure to kick start the business.
Read about requirements, restrictions and download applications directly at OLCC’s cannabis regulatory site: https://www.oregon.gov/olcc/marijuana/Pages/forms_publications.aspx