For the commercial cultivation of cannabis in Oklahoma, one needs to receive a ‘commercial license’ from the Oklahoma Medical Marijuana Authority (OMMA). The application fee for the license is $2500. To make sure you are well versed with the rules of the OMMA, you can consult an experienced marijuana business attorney.
As per the state laws for growing cannabis, anyone applying for the license must be an Oklahoma resident, and only 25% of the equity can be held by non-Oklahoma residents. The applicant has to be at least 25 years of age. Before applying for the license, the applicant will also have to go through a thorough criminal background check. This check includes giving undisclosed details about stockholders, officers, directors, and investors of the related business.
Once you submit the application, the OMMA will review it, and if all the requirements are met with, you will receive an approval letter along with the ID card within 14 days. Once you have attained this commercial license, you will officially be classified as a ‘commercial grower,’ and your business will be classified as a ‘Medical Marijuana Business.’ Your license will be valid for a period of 12 months and will require annual renewal.
In order to proceed with cannabis cultivation at home, you need to find out if your property is categorized as Industrial, Residential, or Commercial. In some cases, commercial cannabis farming is prohibited on Residential properties, and you won’t be able to cultivate it if your property falls under the Residential category. In such situations, you will have to speak with your local authorities.
These are the basic requirements for growing cannabis in the state of Oklahoma. Certain cities may have their own rules and regulations that should be looked into.
Oklahoma medical cannabis growing requirements and applications: https://omma.ok.gov/business-application-information3