New Mexico joins other states and allows the use of marijuana for medical purposes only. This got legalized in the year of 2007. According to this medical patient and their respective caretakers could grow up to 16 cannabis plants. However, only four out of the 16 can be mature.
Besides, the medical industry, it is a felony if you are cannabis farming. The individual caught with this may be treated as a serious felon with a suitable punishment under the law. The legality specification after conviction is pretty much straightforward. You can face up to 9 years of jail time and are also required to pay a $10,000 penalty.
The severity of the penalties can depend upon the amount of cannabis cultivation and possession. The sentence will also increase upon subsequent offenses. It is essential to adhere to the laws to avoid prison or a rap sheet.
There are expenditures regarding cultivating medical marijuana, as well. The application fee for the same is $10,000, and the state compensates $9,000 in case of rejected applications.
The yearly licensing fee for the early 150 plants is about $30,000. After exceeding the limit, it increases up to $10,000 per extra 50 plants. Also, it is essential to note that there is a 450 plant limit.
For full laws and application requirements for New Mexico medical cannabis laws visit: https://www.nmhealth.org/about/mcp/svcs/