The use of cannabis is legalized in the American state of Montana for medical purposes only. The growing of marijuana, other than medical purposes in Montana, is strictly prohibited. You can be charged with a felony if you’re caught growing cannabis.
The legalities regarding cannabis cultivation depend on the basis of the number of plants. For growing less than 30 plants, you may face a prison sentence of up to 10 years. You can also be charged with $50,000 fine. For growing more than 30 plants or possession of marijuana more than 1 pound, the prison sentence is between 2 years to a lifetime.
In addition, you also need to pay a $50,000 penalty. The penalty amount and the duration of imprisonment can double on the following violation.
The license amount depends upon the number of patients, and you’re cultivating for. The annual caretaker license fee is as follows for different people. For instance, for 10 patients and less is $1,000, for 11-49 patients is $2,500 and for 50 patients and more is $5,000
Note that you should immediately report any details or efforts to grow cannabis to the State Department of Public Health.
To learn more about Montana medical marijuana licensing and requirements visit: https://dphhs.mt.gov/marijuana/provider