Colorado is often discussed as the most liberal state of the US when it comes to cannabis cultivation. The possession, farming, and sale of marijuana were legalized in 2012.
The state of Colorado legalized marijuana for recreational purposes for adults aged 21 and above. Under the laws, adults can legally possess, sell, and transport up to 1 ounce of cannabis. Public consumption of marijuana is not permitted and must be done only in private places.
The state laws for growing cannabis allow every individual to grow up to 6 plants on their properties for medicinal and non-medicinal uses. However, only 3 of them can be mature at once. Cannabis cultivators can share trimmings from these plants with adults aged 21 and above sans any financial remuneration.
According to the state laws, if a person is caught with marijuana more than 1 to 2 ounces, it is a petty offense and is punishable with a maximum fine of $100. Having 2-6 ounces is a misdemeanor and punishable with a maximum fine of $700 and imprisonment of up to 7 months.
Possession of 6-12 ounces of marijuana is a serious offense and is punishable to a maximum fine of $5000 and imprisonment of 6-18 months. Possessing more than 12 ounces is punishable with 1 to 2 years of imprisonment and a maximum fine of $100,000.
Speaking of medical marijuana, it is legal in Colorado, and patients can legally possess, use, and cultivate it with written approval from a physician. The laws permit patients to possess 2 ounces of marijuana. Additionally, patients must keep documents on hand to prevent arrest.