In Arkansas, medical cannabis is legal for qualifying patients who are suffering from serious illnesses. However, cannabis farming for recreation purposes and use remains illegal.
The state recommends everyone to purchase cannabis through medical marijuana dispensaries that are registered with the state. Patients must carry their medical marijuana ID to purchase marijuana from a dispensary.
Additionally, caregivers are permitted to buy medical marijuana for their designated patients, given that they show their caregiver registry card.
Patient and caregiver cultivation is strictly prohibited. They can purchase up to 2.5 ounces of marijuana every 14 days from a state-approved dispensary. Recreational possession of marijuana is illegal in Arkansas. Possessing less than 4 ounces, or 13 grams on a first offense is a class A felony that is punishable with one year of imprisonment and a fine up to $2500.
Cannabis cultivation is prosecuted as simple possession or possession with intent to deliver. For people possessing marijuana less than 14 grams or half an ounce is a misdemeanor that comes with a possible jail sentence and a fine of $2500.