Cultivation Laws Arizona

Despite the splendid natural beauty, Arizona is very conservative when it comes to cannabis cultivation. It has some of the sternest laws in the US regarding the same. Medical marijuana is lawful in Arizona, but if you are thinking of cannabis farming for recreational use or possession, you can be subjected to some of the country’s most strict laws. Arizona has very harsh recreational marijuana laws. Cannabis farming for recreational purposes remains illegal since 1931 in Arizona. The sale, cultivation, possession, and trafficking are seen as a felony. 

Having less than 2 ounces for personal use is considered a Class 6 felony, which is punishable by a minimum of 4 months to 2 years. It is also punishable by a minimum fine of $1000. Having 2-4 pounds for personal use is a Class 5 felony, which is actionable by imprisonment of 6 months to 2.5 years. The minimum fine in such a situation is $1000. 

Cannabis cultivation for the purpose of research or recreational use is strictly prohibited in the state. Designated caregivers or registered marijuana patients that don’t reside within 25 miles from a dispensary are permitted to cultivate up to 12 plants of marijuana in a closed facility. Medical marijuana is legal in Arizona only if you meet the criteria concerning medical ailments and possess a written prescription from an approved physician.

So cultivation in Arizona is a no-go but you can learn more about medical usage, doctors, dispensaries, labs, and who qualifies at the Arizona Department of Health Services.